Top Picture

We Want You!

After nearly three years of inactivity, efforts are underway to reinvigorate the General John Stark Scenic Byway Council. Councilmembers are needed to represent the towns of Dunbarton, Weare, New Boston and Goffstown.

Please click here for a one-page flyer, and contact Adam Hlasny ( for more information.

General John Stark Scenic Byway Council

The General John Stark Scenic Byway Council consists of five members appointed by each of the four communities—Goffstown, Dunbarton, Weare and New Boston—plus a representative from the Southern New Hampshire Planning Commission (SNHPC), Central New Hampshire Regional Planning Commission (CNHRPC), and the New Hampshire Department of Transportation (NHDOT).

The Council meets on a quarterly basis to coordinate efforts between the four communities.  The Council continues to work with each of their respective communities to encourage public participation in the management of the Byway. Their goals:logo

  • Protect the historical and cultural features of the General John Stark Scenic Byway. Ensure that the village design is consistent with the historical character of the area.
  • Encourage the public to investigate the historical and resources of the byway.
  • Ensure that the byway is clearly marked, safe and attractive for both visitors and residents.
  • Encourage appreciation and protection of the area’s natural resources.
  • Expand existing local businesses, including local artists, agriculture, and tourism-related businesses.
  • Encourage businesses and communities to market the byway in their advertising. Promote new tourist related businesses.
  • Encourage recreational opportunities including sport fishing, hiking, walking, non-motorized boating and cross country skiing along the route.
  • Develop an ongoing management plan that includes stakeholders from each town.
  • Establish a metrics system to ensure that the goals are met and the action plan is implemented by targeted deadlines.



Visit us on Facebook!


Vintage Poster (December 2017)

Printable Brochure (October 2013)

Bylaws (March 2010)

Corridor Management Plan (December 2008)


U.S. Department of Transportation logo
N.H. Department of Transportation logo
site by Drive Brand Studio >